mainstorconcept Pattern Image
Model9

MANAGE YOUR MAINFRAME
DATA IN THE CLOUD

USE YOUR ENTERPRISE CLOUD STORAGE TO BACKUP AND RESTORE MAINFRAME DATA

ON-PREMISE, HYBRID & PUBLIC 

ENABLE CLOUD APPLICATION ACCESS TO MAINFRAME DATA.

CUTTING-EDGE PROTECTION

ENABLE AGILE RESILIENCE

Recover from a disaster with confidence in any location using air-gapped backups from a clean room environment that was completely isolated from production vulnerabilities. You can also easily restore selected data into your production environment and resolve business disruptions quicker.

REDUCE VENDOR LOCK-IN

Reduce legacy software and consolidate tape management license into a single sophisticated solution. All industry-leading cloud provider are supported including IBM Cloud, Hitachi HCP, Dell ECS, Azure, AWS, Google and more.

ACHIEVE RESTORE OBJECTIVES

Accelerate restore response times and achieve lower Recovery Time Objectives (RTO) through sophisticated software.
Model9 will use mainframe resources effectively to accelerate your backup and recovery times by up to 4 times.

INCREASE BUSINESS SECURITY

Use pervasive immutable (WORM) storage to ensure all backups remain protected from attacks. Industry leading cloud-storage vendors provide virus scanning and detection to identify compromised backups and existing threats that prevent a system wide disaster that would otherwise go undetected.

MODEL9 CLOUD DATA MANAGEMENT

The Model9 Cloud Data Platform is an operating environment which includes a full set of core data management functions that are common to the cloud data management for mainframe suite of products.

MODEL9 MANAGER

Provide cloud native mainframe backup, recovery and data management.

Model9 Manager provides backup, archive, space management, disaster recovery and storage management capabilities, all delivered directly from the mainframe to the cloud, thus eliminating the need for inconvenient tape libraries and their complex management software. Data transfer is efficient, and using cloud storage provides advantages such as flexibility, reliability and data sharing, among many others. One of Model9 Manager’s key features is based on patented technology that intercepts read/write data on tape or VTL and redirects it to object storage without requiring changes to applications or JCLs.

MODEL9 GRAVITY

Make your mainframe data actionable by connecting it with cloud AI/ML & analytics.

Model9 Gravity delivers mainframe data to a cloud-based data lake. The data is transformed in the cloud to any
open format without utilizing expensive mainframe compute cycles. In the cloud, the process does not compete on CPU resources with other processes, so transformation is much faster than on the mainframe. AI/ML and analytics applications can then leverage both current and historical mainframe data to derive better business insights. Model9 Gravity is built as a product on top of the Model9 Cloud Data Platform, a set of core functions common to all
Model9 products.

MODEL9 SHIELD

Protect your mainframe data from cyber threats on a cloud-based platform.

Model9 Shield protects your mainframe data from cyber attacks such as ransomware by transferring the data to immutable cloud-based storage, creating multiple copies of the data, and ensuring all copies are protected. In addition, the data is protected by end-to-end compression and encryption. When sent to the cloud, the data can also be air-gapped — meaning an additional copy is isolated from the network and sheltered from malicious attacks. These measures enable swift recovery from attacks and allow you to remain compliant with regulatory requirements for data retention.

Architecture

The Model9 cloud-based technology enables data orchestration with any object storage using standard protocols without legacy hardware or software required. Data is accessed and transformed with no target storage lock-in, allowing you to have full control of your data.

Overview of the Model9 Cloud Data Manager architecture

Model9’s products are made of two components – a zIIP-eligible agent running on z/OS and a management server running in a Docker container on Linux, Linux on Z, or zCX. The agent reads and writes mainframe data from DASD or tape directly to cloud storage over TCP/IP. A data set import policy provides automatic discovery of VTL data sets and facilitates transferring large amounts of data to the cloud. Model9 uses the ELT approach (extract, load, transform), meaning the data undergoes transformation only after its transfer to the cloud. That process is faster and less expensive than traditional ETL (extract, transform, load), where any access to data requires transformation on the mainframe.

Improve Your Mainframe Administrator Experience

The user interface includes an intuitive search functionality to quickly find and recover mainframe information.

The management server is fully integrated with your mainframe security software suite (like RACF, CA-TSS, or CA-ACF2), so that users can access the UI with their existing mainframe credentials and all actions are controlled through reliable mainframe authorization standards.

Your junior mainframe storage administrators will build their skill faster and efficiently using the intuitive user interface for mainframe data management. TSO commands provide the ability to use the z/OS console and batch jobs to control, query and access backups. Your team can decide which interface provides them with the best experience.

Administrators and management benefit from real-time activity, capacity and error reporting to improve resource management and speed-up problem resolution.

KEY FEATURES

OPTIMIZE MAINFRAME COSTS

Model9 provides an alternative to existing physical and virtual tape hardware and software without changing daily operations and data management processes.

Reduce your costs

  • shifting most of your backup-processing and Storagemanagement to zIIPs
  • Replacing costly physical and virtual tape hardware with any object storage, including on- or off-prem
  • Consolidating legacy backup, tape management, encryption and reporting software products into a single modern solution
REPLACE BACKUP SOFTWARE

Merge legacy backup (such as IBM DFHSM, CA-Disk, FDR/ABR), tape management (IBM RMM, CA-1, CA-TLMS, BMC Control-M/Tape), encryption, and reporting software products into a single future-proof solution.

USE CLOUD STORAGE FOR BACKUPS AND ARCHIVES

Store data backups and archives and load direct data backups to and from cloud object storage. Model9 encrypts all data before it is transferred to cloud providers such as IBM Cloud Object Storage, Hitachi Content Platform, Microsoft Azure, Amazon S3 and Glacier, or Google Cloud Storage.

z/OS UNIX BACKUP

Model9 supports z/OS UNIX file-level incremental backup and recovery, thus saving backup space and shortening backup periods. It backs up only changed files in the z/OS UNIX file system. When restoring, only the specific UNIX file is restored directly to the UNIX file system without having to load the entire HFS/ZFS data set first.

MAXIMUM SECURITY AGAINST RANSOMWARE ATTACKS

For quick business resumption in the event of a ransomware attack, Model9 can back up to WORM-certified (tamper-proof) storage so that data cannot be corrupted or tampered with. Data is encrypted end-to-end, so it cannot be read without permission.

The bare-metal recovery feature ensures that you can restore from the backup copy even if your live system has been compromised.

DEFINE ADDITIONAL RECOVERY POINTS AND IMPROVE RECOVERY POINTS (RPO)

If you use Snapshot technology (for example, FlashCopy) to create a consistent recovery point, Model9 lets you reuse Snapshot target space for additional Snapshots by creating a backup copy of the Snapshot. This way, you can take as many Snapshots as needed with the same “limited” Snapshot target space. The backup copy can be used to restore a single record, an entire disk, or the entire Snapshot copy.

STANDALONE DISASTER-RECOVERY

The backup server and storage can be located remotely and serve as an internal vault backup for disaster recovery. In bare-metal recovery scenarios, a standalone recovery program is IPLed over the network directly from the server. The standalone recovery program is used to recover disks and data sets without the need for a live Z/OS system.

Model9 Blogs

mainstorconcept Pattern Image
Model9

VERWALTUNG DER MAINFRAME

DATEN IN DER CLOUD

NUTZUNG DES CLOUD-SPEICHERS IHRES UNTERNEHMENS ZUR SICHERUNG UND WIEDERHERSTELLUNG VON MAINFRAME-DATEN

ON-PREMISE, HYBRID & PUBLIC

ERMÖGLICHEN SIE DEN ZUGRIFF VON CLOUD-ANWENDUNGEN AUF MAINFRAME-DATEN.

CUTTING-EDGE PROTECTION

AGILE RESILIENZ ERMÖGLICHEN

Nach einem Katastrophenfall können Sie sich an jedem beliebigen Standort mit Hilfe von Backups in einer Reinraumumgebung aufbauen, die vollständig von den Schwachstellen der Produktion isoliert wird. Außerdem können Sie ausgewählte Daten problemlos in Ihrer Produktionsumgebung wiederherstellen und Geschäftsunterbrechungen schneller beheben.

VENDOR LOCK-IN VERRINGERN

Reduzieren Sie Legacy-Software und konsolidieren Sie Bandverwaltungslizenzen in einer einzigen hochentwickelten Lösung. Alle branchenführenden Cloud-Anbieter werden unterstützt, einschließlich IBM Cloud, Hitachi HCP, Dell ECS, Azure, AWS, Google und mehr.

WIEDERHERSTELLUNGSZIELE ERREICHEN

Beschleunigen Sie die Wiederherstellungsreaktionszeiten und erreichen Sie niedrigere Recovery Time Objectives (RTO) durch fortschrittliche Software.
Model9 nutzt Mainframe-Ressourcen effektiv, um Ihre Sicherungs- und Wiederherstellungszeiten um das bis zu Vierfache zu beschleunigen.

ERHÖHUNG DER UNTERNEHMENSSICHERHEIT

Verwenden Sie durchgängig unveränderbaren Speicher (WORM), um sicherzustellen, dass alle Backups vor Angriffen geschützt bleiben. Branchenführende Anbieter von Cloud-Speichern bieten Virenscans und -erkennungen an, um kompromittierte Backups und bestehende Bedrohungen zu identifizieren und so eine systemweite Katastrophe zu verhindern, die andernfalls unentdeckt bleiben würde.

MODEL9 CLOUD DATA MANAGEMENT

Bei der Model9 Cloud Data Plattform handelt es sich um eine operative Umgebung, die einen vollständigen Katalog von Kernfunktionen für die Datenverwaltung enthält, welche des Weiteren in der Produktreihe Cloud Data Management für Mainframe enthalten sind.

MODEL9 MANAGER

Cloud-native Mainframe-Sicherung, -Wiederherstellung und -Datenverwaltung.

Model9 Manager bietet Funktionen zur Sicherung, Archivierung, Speicherplatzverwaltung, Notfallwiederherstellung und Speicherverwaltung, die alle direkt vom Mainframe in die Cloud übertragen werden, sodass keine umständlichen Bandbibliotheken und deren komplexe Verwaltungssoftware mehr erforderlich sind. Die Datenübertragung ist effizient, und die Nutzung von Cloud-Storage bietet Vorteile wie Flexibilität, Zuverlässigkeit und gemeinsame Nutzung von Daten, neben vielen anderen. Eine der Hauptfunktionen von Model9 Manager basiert auf einer patentierten Technologie, die Lese- und Schreibdaten auf Bändern oder VTLs erfasst und in einen Objektspeicher überführt, ohne dass Änderungen an Anwendungen oder JCLs erforderlich sind.

MODEL9 GRAVITY

Machen Sie Ihre Mainframe-Daten nutzbar, indem Sie sie mit KI/ML und Analysen aus der Cloud verbinden.

Model9 Gravity liefert Mainframe-Daten an einen Cloud-basierten Data Lake. Die Daten werden in der Cloud in ein beliebiges offenen Format transformiert, ohne kostspielige Mainframe-Rechenzyklen in Anspruch zu nehmen. In der Cloud steht der Prozess nicht im Wettbewerb um CPU-Ressourcen mit anderen Prozessen, sodass die Umwandlung viel schneller erfolgt als auf dem Mainframe. KI/ML- und Analyseanwendungen können anschließend sowohl aktuelle als auch historische Mainframe-Daten nutzen, um bessere Geschäftseinblicke zu gewinnen. Model9 Gravity ist ein Produkt, das als Ergänzung zur Model9 Cloud Data Platform entwickelt wurde.

MODEL9 SHIELD

Schützen Sie Ihre Mainframe-Daten vor Cyber-Angriffen auf einer cloudbasierten Plattform.

Model9 Shield schützt Ihre Mainframe-Daten vor Cyberangriffen wie Ransomware, indem es diese Daten auf einen unveränderlichen Cloud-basierten Speicher überträgt, mehrere Kopien der Daten erstellt und sicherstellt, dass alle Kopien geschützt aufbewahrt werden. Darüber hinaus werden die Daten durch eine Ende-zu-Ende-Komprimierung und -Verschlüsselung geschützt. Bei der Übertragung in die Cloud können die Daten auch „air-gapped“ werden, d. h. eine zusätzliche Kopie wird vom Netzwerk isoliert und vor schadhaften Angriffen geschützt. Diese Maßnahmen ermöglichen eine schnellere Wiederherstellung nach Angriffen und erlauben es Ihnen, die gesetzlichen Vorschriften zur Datenaufbewahrung einzuhalten.

ARCHITEKTUR

Die Cloud-basierte Technologie von Model9 ermöglicht die Datenorchestrierung mit beliebigen Objektspeichern unter Verwendung von Standardprotokollen, ohne dass herkömmliche Hardware oder Software erforderlich ist. Der Zugriff auf Daten und deren Umwandlung erfolgt ohne Bindung an den Zielspeicher, sodass Sie die volle Kontrolle über Ihre Daten beibehalten.

Overview of the Model9 Cloud Data Manager architecture

Die Produkte von Model9 bestehen aus zwei Komponenten – einem zIIP-fähigen Agenten, der auf z/OS läuft, und einem Management-Server, der in einem Docker-Container auf Linux, Linux on Z oder zCX läuft. Der Agent liest und schreibt Mainframe-Daten von DASD oder Tape direkt in den Cloud-Speicher über TCP/IP. Eine Datensatz-Importrichtlinie sorgt für die automatische Erkennung von VTL-Datensätzen und erleichtert die Übertragung großer Datenmengen in die Cloud. Model9 verwendet den ELT-Ansatz (extract, load, transform), d. h. die Daten werden erst nach der Übertragung in die Cloud umgewandelt. Dieser Prozess ist schneller und kostengünstiger als herkömmliches ETL (Extrahieren, Transformieren, Laden), bei dem jeder Zugriff auf Daten eine Transformation auf dem Mainframe erfordert.

Verbessern Sie Ihre Mainframe Administrator Experience

Die Benutzeroberfläche enthält eine intuitive Suchfunktion zum schnellen Auffinden und Wiederherstellen von Mainframe-Informationen.

Der Management-Server ist vollständig in Ihre Mainframe-Sicherheitssoftware-Suite (wie RACF, CA-TSS oder CA-ACF2) integriert, so dass Benutzer mit ihren bestehenden Mainframe-Anmeldeinformationen auf die Benutzeroberfläche zugreifen können und alle Aktionen durch zuverlässige Mainframe-Autorisierungsstandards gesteuert werden.

Ihre jungen Mainframe-Speicheradministratoren werden ihre Fähigkeiten schneller und effizienter aufbauen, indem sie die intuitive Benutzeroberfläche für die Mainframe-Datenverwaltung zum Einsatz bringen. TSO-Befehle bieten die Möglichkeit, die z/OS-Konsole und Batch-Jobs zur Steuerung, Abfrage und zum Zugriff auf Backups zu verwenden. Ihr Team kann selbst entscheiden, welche Schnittstelle am geeignetsten für sie ist.

Administratoren und Management profitieren von Echtzeit-Aktivitäts-, Kapazitäts- und Fehlerberichten, die das Ressourcenmanagement verbessern und die Problemlösung beschleunigen.

KEY FEATURES

MAINFRAME-KOSTEN OPTIMIEREN

Model9 bietet eine Alternative zu bestehender physischer und virtueller Band Hard- und Software, ohne die täglichen Betriebsabläufe und Datenmanagementprozesse zu verändern.

Senken Sie Ihre Kosten durch

  • die Auslagerung des größten Teils der Backup- und Speicherverwaltung an zIIPs
  • das Ersetzen kostspieliger physischer und virtueller Bandhardware durch einen beliebigen Objekt-Speicher, einschließlich On- oder Off-Prem
  • die Konsolidierung von Softwareprodukten für Legacy-Backup, Tape-Management, Verschlüsselung und Reporting in einer einzigen modernen Lösung
BACKUP-SOFTWARE ERSETZEN

Vereinigen Sie Legacy-Backups (wie IBM DFHSM, CA-Disk, FDR/ABR), Bandverwaltung (IBM RMM, CA-1, CA-TLMS, BMC Control-M/Tape), Verschlüsselung und Reporting-Softwareprodukte in einer einzigen zukunftsfähigen Lösung.

CLOUD-SPEICHER FÜR BACKUPS UND ARCHIVE NUTZEN

Speichern Sie Datenbackups und -archive und laden Sie direkte Datenwiederherstellungen in den und aus dem Cloud-Objektspeicher. Model9 verschlüsselt alle Daten, bevor sie an Cloud-Anbieter wie IBM Cloud Object Storage, Hitachi Content Platform, Microsoft Azure, Amazon S3 und Glacier oder Google Cloud Storage übertragen werden.

z/OS UNIX BACKUP

Model9 unterstützt z/OS UNIX File-Level inkrementelle Sicherung und Wiederherstellung, spart so Backup-Speicherplatz spart und verkürzt Sicherungszeiträume. Es sichert nur geänderte Dateien im z/OS UNIX-Dateisystem. Bei der Wiederherstellung wird nur die spezifische UNIX-Datei direkt in das UNIX-Dateisystem zurückgeladen, ohne dass zuerst der gesamte HFS/ZFS-Datensatz geladen werden muss.

MAXIMUM SECURITY AGAINST RANSOMWARE ATTACKS

Für eine schnelle Wiederaufnahme des Geschäftsbetriebs im Falle eines Ransomware-Angriffs, kann Model9 eine Sicherungskopie auf WORM-zertifiziertem (unveränderlichem) Speicher erstellen, sodass Daten weder beschädigt noch manipuliert werden können. Die Daten sind Ende-zu-Ende verschlüsselt, sodass sie nicht ohne Genehmigung gelesen werden können.

Die Bare-Metal-Wiederherstellungsfunktion stellt sicher, dass Sie von der Sicherungskopie wiederherstellen können, selbst wenn Ihr Live-System kompromittiert wurde.

ZUSÄTZLICHE WIEDERHERSTELLUNGSPUNKTE DEFINIEREN UND RECOVERY POINTS (RPO) VERBESSERN

Wenn Sie die Snapshot-Technologie (z. B. FlashCopy) verwenden, um einen konsistenten Wiederherstellungspunkt zu erstellen, können Sie in Model9 die Snapshot-Zielkapazität für zusätzliche Snapshots wiederverwenden, indem Sie eine Sicherungskopie des Snapshots erstellen. Auf diese Weise können Sie so viele Snapshots wie nötig mit dem gleichen „begrenzten“ Snapshot-Zielspeicherplatz aufnehmen. Die Sicherungskopie kann verwendet werden, um einen einzelnen Datensatz, einen ganzen Datenträger oder die komplette Snapshot-Kopie wiederherzustellen.

STANDALONE DISASTER-RECOVERY

Der Backup-Server und der Speicher können sich an einem entfernten Standort befinden und als internes Tresor-Backup für die Notfallwiederherstellung dienen. Das eigenständige Wiederherstellungsprogramm wird verwendet, um Datenträger und Datensätze wiederherzustellen, ohne dass ein Live-Z/OS-System erforderlich ist.

Model9 Blogs