mainstorconcept Pattern Image

z/RTD

REAL TAPE OPTION FOR DELL EMC DLM

A virtual tape library (VTL) consists of fully virtualized z/OS tape drives, which are secured by a disk-based storage unit. Dell EMCs Disk Library for mainframe (DLm) provides a virtual tape solution. Thus far, companies have been limited to virtual tapes when using DLm. mainstorconcept’s z/RTD module allows for a solution that copies this virtual data onto physical LTO tapes using NetWorker/DPS. Not only does this make your mainframe data quickly available through DLm but also owing to z/RTD you obtain a physical copy of your data providing a last line of defense for your business.

ADVANTAGES OF Z/RTD 

Apart from delivering a last line of defense, z/RTD offers companies an increase in flexibility, security, and velocity for their management of real tapes.

All relevant information is recorded by z/RTD in a log file to be displayed on the mainframe as soon as the jobs have been completed. As a result, each individual job can be reviewed and based on the result actions can be taken.

z/RTD possesses the “Write once read many ” feature to ensure that the copies are safe from manipulation. This kind of tape limits the data access to read-only mode. Another advantage of z/RTD is its variable retention time. The retention times can be adjusted individually – customizable on a job basis to fit your business needs. z/RTD is equipped with several more features, which are ready to use out-of-the-box.

HOW IT WORKS

z/RTD operates with the most recent DLm systems. Let us start with an example customer who runs a z/15 mainframe with DELL EMCs DLm8500 and DataDomain as storage backend. Our example customer desires an additional backup on physical tape.

The Dell EMC NetWorker facilitates the connection between the DLm8500 and the real tape library. In general, the Dell EMC Networker operates on a separate server.

Prior to using z/RTD, the z/RTD module, as well as the Networker Client have to be installed on all available Virtual Tape Engines (VTEs) of the DLm.

The communication between z/RTD on the DLm and the NetWorker server takes place through the internal DLm 10GbE-switches. The NetWorker server is connected to the customer’s network via Ethernet and to the real tape library over Fibre Channel (FC).

After executing the z/RTD jobs on the mainframe, z/RTD secures the tape copies using the VTEs and transmits the data via network to the NetWorker server. The NetWorker server catalogs the backed up copies in its internal database. Subsequently, the data is written in order to protect it in the real tape library on LTO tapes using the FC.

A restore can be realized for each individual tape. It can be started either with the help of the Networker server (GUI/WebGUI) or using the DLm CLI.

FEATURES

1

Parallel z/RTD Jobs

Tapes can be duplicated much faster through parallelization. Numerous z/RTD jobs allow for both simultaneous reading of separate DLm tape libraries and writing to the backup.

~

LTO WORM Support

z/RTD supports as a backup option not only standard tapes but also WORM tapes to secure critical tape data. This allows long-term storage of any data, protecting it physically from modification.

Tape Duplication

Every tape can be secured using the same VOLSER providing multiple replicas of the same tape. The tapes can be written into different Pools. This feature is triggered by a separate job on the mainframe.

Tape Retention

z/RTD offers for each backup flexible tape retention. The tape retention can be customized for each job individually based on your business requirements. For example, the tape retention can be set for a period of 53 years.

Logging

Tapes facilitate backups of your regular data. Not only is regular data important for businesses but also metadata in the form of logs is relevant. These logs are written once a job is completed and made available as tapes.

Pool Assignment

z/RTD jobs can be individually assigned to Backup Pools. The tapes can be written to a maximum of two pools per job. The backup destination can be changed dynamically, which does not affect the completed backups.

mainstorconcept Pattern Image

z/RTD

REAL TAPE OPTION FÜR DELL EMC DLM

Eine virtuelle Bandbibliothek (Virtual-Tape-Library, VTL) besteht aus vollständig virtualisierten z/OS-Bandlaufwerken, die von einer Disk-Based Storage Unit gesichert werden. Dell EMCs Disk Library for mainframe (DLm) bietet eine solche  virtuelle Tape-Lösung. Bisher waren Unternehmen beim Betrieb von DLms ausschließlich auf virtuelle Bänder eingeschränkt. Mit mainstorconcepts z/RTD Lösung können diese virtuellen Daten mit Unterstützung des Dell EMC NetWorker/DPS auf physische Bänder kopiert werden. So stehen Ihre Mainframe-Daten nicht nur sekundenschnell über die DLm zur Verfügung, sondern Sie erhalten dank z/RTD eine Datenkopie auf physischen LTO-Bändern als Last Line of Defense.

IHRE VORTEILE MIT z/RTD

 

z/RTD bietet Unternehmen nicht nur die Möglichkeit mit der DLm, reale Bänder als Last Line of Defense zu nutzen, sondern erhöht die Flexibilität, Sicherheit und Schnelligkeit bei der Handhabung dieser Realen-Tapes. 

Alle von z/RTD protokollierten Ereignisse werden in einer Logdatei nach Vollendung des Jobs auf dem Mainframe dargestellt. Somit kann für jeden Job das Ergebnis individuell überprüft und auf Ereignisse entsprechend reagiert werden.

Um sicherzustellen, dass Ihre gesicherten Kopien vor Manipulation geschützt sind, verfügt z/RTD über die “Write once read many” (WORM) Funktion. Es besteht ausschließlich ein Lesezugriff auf Ihre Daten bei dieser Art von Tapes. Zudem ist die Aufbewahrungszeit von Tapes individualisierbar – anpassbar an die Bedürfnisse Ihrer eigenen Jobs. z/RTD verfügt über weitere Funktionen, welche Ihnen Out-of-the-box Funktion zur Verfügung stehen. 

FUNKTIONSWEISE

z/RTD kann mit jedem aktuellen DLm System genutzt werden. In unserem Beispiel hat ein Kunde einen z/15 Mainframe, eine DLm8500 und eine Data Domain als Storage Backend im Einsatz.

Dieser benötigt eine zusätzliche Real-Tape Sicherung. Die Verbindung zwischen der DLm8500 und der Real-Tape-Library wird durch einen Dell EMC NetWorker ermöglicht. Dieser wird auf einem separaten Server betrieben.

Bevor z/RTD genutzt werden kann, wird jeweils ein z/RTD Modul, sowie ein Networker Client auf alle zur Verfügung stehenden Virtual Tape Engines (VTEs) der DLm installiert.

Die Kommunikation zwischen z/RTD auf der DLm und dem NetWorker Server erfolgt über die internen DLm 10GbE-Switche. Der NetWorker Server ist über Ethernet mit dem Kundennetzwerk und über Fibre Channel (FC) mit der realen Bandbibliothek verbunden.

 

Die auf dem Mainframe gestarteten z/RTD-Jobs sichern die gewünschten Tapekopien über die VTEs und übermittelt diese über das Netzwerk zum Networker Server. Dieser katalogisiert die Backup-Kopien in seiner internen Datenbank. Darauffolgend werden die Daten über FC in die Real-Tape-Libary auf LTO  gesichert.

Ein Restore erfolgt für jedes einzelne Tape  individuell. Der Restore kann entweder über den Networker Server (GUI/WebGUI) oder über die DLm CLI durchgeführt werden.

FEATURES

1

Parallel TapeOut Jobs

Tapes können aufgrund der Parallelisierungsoption weitaus schneller vervielfältigt werden. Mehrere z/RTD Jobs ermöglichen dabei gleichzeitig von verschiedenen DLm Tape Libraries zu lesen und auf das Backupziel zu schreiben.

~

LTO WORM Support

Zum Schutz kritischer Tapedaten unterstützt z/RTD neben Standard Tapes auch WORM Tapes als Sicherungsziel. Somit können Daten langfristig und physikalisch vor Veränderung geschützt aufbewahrt werden.

Tape Duplication

Jedes Tape kann mit dem gleichen VOLSER in mehrfacher Ausführung gesichert werden. Diese Tapes können in verschiedene Pools geschrieben werden. Dieses Feature wird mit einem separaten Job aus dem Mainframe gestartet.

 

Pool Assignment

z/RTD Jobs können flexibel zu Backup Pools zugewiesen werden. Dabei können die Tapes auf bis zu zwei Pools pro Job geschrieben werden. Das Backup-Ziel kann dynamisch verändert werden, wobei die bestehenden Backups unberührt bleiben.

Logging

Tapes ermöglichen die Sicherung ihrer regulären Daten. Nicht nur diese, sondern auch Metadaten in Form von Logs sind von Belang. Diese Logs werden am Ende jedes Jobs in Form eines Tapes bereitgestellt und können auf dem Mainframe dargestellt werden.

Tape Retention

z/RTD bietet für jede Sicherung eine flexible Aufbewahrungszeit. Somit kann für jeden Job individuell die Laufzeit nach Ihren Anforderungen angepasst werden. Beispielsweise eine Aufbewahrungszeit von 53 Jahren.